This is so taxing!

So, tomorrow is tax day.  If you haven’t already filed your return, you’re probably tearing you hair out by now.  For me, I got mine out of the way early this year, and was happy to sit back and relax while everyone else around me scrambled for receipts.

As you struggle to find a few pennies to pay Uncle Sam, the good PR folks from ICON Estates sent me some Steal vs. Splurge wines for my drinking and your reading pleasure.  Since I have been on a value kick recently, it was great to see that even the Splurge wines were well with in a comfortable budget, and were not something out of reach for the average consumer.

First up, Cabernet to Cabernet!

The 2006 Paso Creek Cabernet Sauvignon is an interesting beat.  I don’t normally think of Paso as an area for Cabernet, but this Cabernet showed chewy cherries, leather, casiss, cocoa and dark berries.  It was a bit rough, but was a nice full bodied cab with a bit of smoke on the finish.

At $15 it’s a good value but I’m not sure I’d buy this one on my own.

The 2nd Cab was a Napa Valley classic, the 2006 Robert Mondavi Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon.  I haven’t had a Mondavi wine in ages, and I wasn’t sure to expect when I opened up this wine.  Boy was I surprised!  This $20 Cab showed the characteristics of a much more expensive Cabernet.  It is a classic Bordeaux style blend of 80% Cabernet Sauvignon, 12% Merlot, 3% Cabernet Franc, 3% Malbec, 1% Petite Verdot and 1% Syrah.  Wow what a mish mash!  Each component adds a little something extra to this wine.

There was tons of big dark fruit, chocolate, and an herbaceous quality.  It was an elegant wine, and to me, showed a lot of characteristics of much more expensive Cab from Napa. I’m not one to hold my wines very long, but I can see this develop in to a mature old man with some time.  That said, it is a terriffic sipping wine and could do well with a strong food pairing, particularly the pungent blue cheeses.

If you get some money back, look for this on sale at Safeway or BevMo because it realy is a great wine at a good price.  After your taxes are in, celebrate with some dessert wine (coming up in the further adventures of Tax Day wines)!

One Response to “This is so taxing!”

  1. WineLog Blog » Blog Archive » Icon Tax Time! Says:

    […] some wine samples for various bloggers to try including the prolific 1WineDude (Twitter, Twitter2), Luscious Lush Thea (Twitter, Twitter2) and yours truly (Twitter), among […]

Leave a Reply

